Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Football Reporting
Football Reporting


Seattle Sounders’ Morris, Lodeiro join LAFC’s Rossi on MLS MVP shortlist

Seattle Sounders teammates Jordan Morris and Nicolas Lodeiro were among the five finalists announced Wednesday for the 2020 Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player award.

Joining the Seattle duo are Philadelphia Union goalkeeper Andre Blake, Toronto FC midfielder Alejandro Pozuelo and Los Angeles FC forward Diego Rossi.

MLS on ESPN+: Stream LIVE games and replays (U.S. only)
– MLS Cup playoffs: Who’s in, who’s out, fixtures and more

The league also revealed the three finalists in the other major awards categories, including the top defender, newcomer and goalkeeper. The finalists were determined through voting by MLS players, coaches, general managers and media members. The winners and the 2020 MLS Best XI will be announced in the coming weeks.

Morris, a forward, tallied 10 goals and eight assists in 22 games for the Sounders. Lodeiro, a midfielder, added seven goals and 10 assists in 20 games.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Philadelphia’s Blake, the 2016 MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, tallied eight shutouts for the Supporters’ Shield winners. Pozuelo registered nine goals and 10 assists in 23 games for Toronto. Rossi won the MLS Golden Boot with a league-high 14 goals and added four assists in 19 games for LAFC.

Below are the other awards and finalists:

–Defender of the Year: Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

–Goalkeeper of the Year: Blake, Eloy Room (Columbus Crew SC), Matt Turner (New England Revolution)

–Newcomer of the Year: Robert Beric (Chicago Fire), Alan Pulido (Sporting Kansas City), Lucas Zelarayan (Columbus)

–Young Player of the Year: Rossi, Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia), Daryl Dike (Orlando City)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

–Coach of the Year: Jim Curtin (Philadelphia), Oscar Pareja (Orlando City), Greg Vanney (Toronto)

–Comeback Player of the Year: Kevin Molino (Minnesota United), Milton Valenzuela (Columbus), Bradley Wright-Phillips (LAFC)

–Humanitarian of the Year: Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers), Mark-Anthony Kaye (LAFC), Justin Morrow (Toronto)

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like