Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Football Reporting
Football Reporting

Football News

United States to open Gold Cup against Haiti, Mexico start with Trinidad and Tobago

CONCACAF giants the United States and Mexico have learnt their first opponents at the Gold Cup after qualifying wrapped up on Tuesday.

Mexico will start their campaign on Saturday July 10 against Trinidad and Tobago after the Soca Warriors defeated French Guiana 8-7 on penalties after the match finished 1-1 at DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale.

– Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (U.S. only)
– Carlisle: Assessing the USMNT Gold Cup squad
– CONCACAF Gold Cup bracket and fixtures schedule

Later on Tuesday, Haiti triumphed 4-1 over Bermuda to book a showdown with the USMNT — that match will be played on Sunday July 10 in Kansas City.

Guadeloupe won the day’s other qualifier, pipping Guatemala 10-9 on penalties after a 1-1 draw.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The United States has lifted the CONCACAF Gold Cup six times, most recently in the 2017 edition. The USMNT won the inaugural tournament in 1991 before being crowned regional champions again in 2002, 2005, 2007 and 2013.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like