Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Football Reporting
Football Reporting


Kekana dedicates Fifa Puskas award nomination to late Ngcongca

The Mamelodi Sundowns skipper will challenge Luis Suarez, Andre-Pierre Gignac and Heung-min Son for the prestigious Fifa award

Hlompho Kekana has dedicated his Fifa Puskas award nomination to former Mamelodi Sundowns teammate Anele Ngcongca.

The former Genk right back who was set to be unveiled by Amazulu on Monday evening, passed away tragically following a car accident in Durban.

In a touching post on Twitter, the Downs skipper says his shortlist for the prestigious award is for the former South Africa international.

“As a club we are still mourning the loss of our brother. In training we feel it. Amidst the sadness, it is difficult to process this, and I have to dedicate this nomination to my brother #16 Anele Ngcongca,” Kekana tweeted.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Goal 50 Revealed: The best 50 players in the world

The 35-year-old’s long-range screamer in the Brazilians’ 1-1 draw against Cape Town City on August 20, 2019 made the cut alongside Tottenham Hotspur’s Son Heung-min, Atletico Madrid’s Luis Suarez, Caroline Weir (Manchester City), Leonel Quinonez (Universidad Catolica, Zlatko Junuzoic (Rapid Wien), Sophie Ingle (Arsenal Women), Andre-Pierre Gignac (UANL Tigres), Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica women), Jordan Flores (Shamrock Rovers) and Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Ceara SC).

This is not the first time Kekana would be listed for the accolade after his goal for South Africa versus Cameroon in March 2016 was considered for that year’s prize. Nevertheless, he did not make the final selection from a preliminary selection.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“The winner of the Fifa Puskas Award will be selected by an international jury comprising a panel of Fifa legends and by the fans from all over the world registered on Each of the two groups of voters within the jury has the same electoral weight,” Fifa wrote in a statement.

Voting is already open and will close on December 9 with the three finalists revealed two days later.

Winner will be crowned at The Best Fifa Football Awards on December 17 and the 2020 winner will replace Hungarian Daniel Zsori, who won it last year.

Meanwhile, Liverpool duo of Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane will compete for the Best Fifa Men’s Player alongside Barcelona‘s Lionel Messi, Paris Saint-Germain‘s Kylian Mbappe and Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo.


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like