Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Football Reporting
Football Reporting

Football News

PFA Premier League Team of the Year revealed as Man City stars dominate selections

Manchester City lead the way in the PFA Team of the Year, with the champions seeing six players make the cut.

Pep Guardiola’s side cruised to their third title in four years, eventually beating out Manchester United by a 12-point margin.

City conceded just 32 goals in the entire Premier League season and that defensive solidity has been reflected in four of their back five being honoured.

Ederson, who also won the Golden Glove award with 19 clean sheets, the second campaign on the spin that the Brazilian has scooped that prize, is the choice in between the sticks.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Football Writers’ Player of the Year, Ruben Dias is included, while his defensive colleagues John Stones and Joao Cancelo have also been named.

Man City won the Premier League title at a canter last season
Man City won the Premier League title at a canter last season

Luke Shaw is the final defender, symbolising his dramatic turnaround in form under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer this term.

The England international’s place at Old Trafford looked under threat at the start of the season following Alex Telles’ arrival, but he has emerged as one of the top-flight’s most consistent defensive players.

City also dominate in midfield with Kevin De Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan both selected by their fellow pros.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

De Bruyne is one of just two players to make the XI in both of the last two seasons, with the Belgian registering six goals and 12 assists in just 25 league appearances.

Gundogan meanwhile enjoyed his best scoring season of his career, netting 13 in the Premier League, more than in his previous three campaigns combined.

Bruno Fernandes’ brilliant first full season in England has been recognised, after scoring 28 times and picking up 18 assists in all competitions.

Fernandes earned his place after a stunning season in front of goal
Fernandes earned his place after a stunning season in front of goal

Which player was most unlucky to miss out? Have your say in the comments below

The United midfielder, who is one of the frontrunners for the individual award, admitted that picking up individual awards is pleasing, despite missing out on silverware as a team.

“If we win trophies, it is the most important thing,” he said. “Of course, it’s good for a player to win individual awards and I will never say I don’t want to be the best player in the league or I don’t want to be the PFA Player of the Season.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Mohamed Salah is the only Liverpool player named, down from five following their Premier League triumph in 2019/20.

Despite failing to replicate their heroics as a team, the Egyptian still scored 22 goals, a tally only bettered by Tottenham ’s Harry Kane.

The Spurs striker plundered 23 in the league as he continues to move up the all-time scoring charts. Kane also laid on 14 goals for his teammates in a stunning season.

Many of those were to his strike partner Son Heung-Min, with the pair breaking the single season record for combined efforts.

In total, Son scored 17 himself, as well as registering 10 assists with the Spurs strikeforce accounting for a combined 40 goals.

PFA Team of the Year: Ederson (Man City); Cancelo (Man City), Stones (Man City), Dias (Man City), Shaw (Man Utd); De Bruyne (Man City), Gundogan (Man City), Fernandes (Man Utd); Salah (Liverpool), Kane (Spurs), Son (Tottenham).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Source link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like