Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Football Reporting
Football Reporting


5 Man Utd stars will break Sir Alex Ferguson rule when Ole Gunnar Solskjaer pens new deal

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s brand new contract will see five Manchester United stars unintentionally break a rule created by Sir Alex Ferguson – but it’s an improvement on the previous nine.

Solskjaer has been earning around £7.5million a year at Manchester United, which is less than such stars as Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw and Bruno Fernandes.

But the Red Devils manager will move ahead of the aforementioned names when he pens his new contract worth around £10million per season.

United players and staff earn considerably more than they did back when Sir Alex Ferguson was in charge.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

But, interestingly, the Scot was still at the helm when player power began to rear its head.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is set to sign a new contract at Manchester United
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is set to sign a new contract at Manchester United

And it was during negotiations with Wayne Rooney back in 2010 that Ferguson made a rule at Old Trafford.

“I told them I did not think it fair that Rooney should earn twice what I made,” Ferguson revealed in a book in 2015. “[United co-chairman] Joel Glazer said: ‘I totally agree but what should we do?’

“It was simple. We just agreed no player should be paid more than me.”

Of course, things have drastically changed since Ferguson stepped down in 2013.

Manchester United splashed £89million on Paul Pogba while Neymar moved from Barcelona to Paris Saint-Germain for £189million.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

But Solskjaer’s bumper new deal means there will only be five players ahead of him in the financial pecking order going forward, instead of the previous nine.

Sir Alex Ferguson made a rule at Manchester United back in 2010
Sir Alex Ferguson made a rule at Manchester United back in 2010

The five players are Marcus Rashford, Edinson Cavani, Anthony Martial, Paul Pogba and David de Gea.

Rashford earns around £200,000-a-week, which equates to £10.4million a year while Cavani makes £210,000-a-week and Martial £250,000-a-week, equating to £10.9million and £13million respectively.

Pogba is United’s second-highest earner and brings home £290,000-a-week or £15million a year, while De Gea earns a huge £375,000-a-week, equating to £19.5million each season.

Source link

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like


The Premier League’s pundits were in fine voice over the weekend as Manchester City, Newcastle, Brighton, Chelsea, Bournemouth, Leeds, Tottenham and Arsenal all won...

AC Milan

The early signs from Charles De Ketelaere are very positive and there seems to be no doubts about his position at AC Milan, a...

Manchester United

Gary Neville quipped that Paul Scholes has “snapped” after the former Manchester United midfielder ranted on Instagram after Brighton’s shock 2-1 win at Old...

AC Milan

The friendly on Saturday against Vicenza showed that AC Milan are ready to take on the new season as they won 6-1, but there...